SoIT's News Issue 3 2009

Report on the 2009 University of Sydney IT Alumni Association Annual General Meeting

The 2009 annual general meeting for the University of Sydney IT Alumni Association was held on Thursday 16th July 2009 at 6pm in the SIT Lecture Theatre.

The meeting began with a report on the activities of the past year from USITAA President Mark Webb.

Alumni activities

Engineering Sydney Young Alumni of the Year Award
In October USITAA members Simon Ratner and Ryan Junee were named Engineering Sydney Young Alumni of the Year award. USITAA executive member Judy Kay nominated Simon and Ryan for the award which recognises engineering alumni who have shown outstanding creativity, dedication or leadership in their professional endeavours

End Of year Function
Around 100 staff students and alumni attended the School of IT / USITAA / SUITS End of Year Function (EOyF) in November 2008. The event was kindly sponsored by Optiver.

Spring Back to Sydney
USITAA took part in the Spring Back to Sydney Alumni Reunion. Executive committee members met with alumni who graduated in a year ending in ‘8’.

2009 Graduation Dinner
On the evening before graduations, alumni, staff and students joined guest speaker and alumnus Anna Cicognani in congratulating graduands. The formal dinner was held in the Winter Garden and was kindly sponsored by Optiver.

Outreach for the School

2008 Engineering Sydney Research Conversazione
Executive committee members joined over 300 industry representatives at the Faculty of Engineering and IT’s annual Research Conversazione in October 2008.

SUITS Dinner
USITAA President Mark Webb was invited to address the Sydney University IT Society (SUITS) Celebratory Dinner.

High School Career Counsellors and Principals’ Breakfast
USITAA executive committee members attended the High School Career Counsellors and Principals’ Breakfast in 2008 and 2009. The event offers the chance to talk directly to high school principals and careers counsellors about careers in IT.

Sydney Uni Live
In 2008 and 2009, USITAA members worked with the School promoting IT to potential students at the biggest recruitment event run by the University.

Other initiatives

Over a hundred people took part in two surveys conducted by USITAA. The surveys, one aimed at alumni and the other for current students, have helped to raise awareness of USITAA and given the Executive Committee firm ideas on what alumni want from their association.

Survey results (PDF)

Social Networking sites
There are Facebook and LinkedIn social networking group sites for USITAA. Currently, the Facebook site has 131 members, and LinkedIn, 239 members.

In conclusion, Mark thanked all the members who supported USITAA with these functions and initiatives, and particularly the executive committee who had worked with him over the past year establishing the association, Rebekah Griffin, Philip Chung, Franc Carter, Judy Kay, Matthew Pittman and Greg Ryan.

Election of the Executive Committee

Head of School Associate Professor Sanjay Chawla took over the meeting at this point to conduct the election of the executive committee. Nominations were taken before the meeting, and the following members were unanimously elected:

Office bearers

Mark Webb, BSc (94), BEng (96)
Director, Workforce Systems, NSW Department of Premier and Cabinet

Franc Carter, BSc Hons (95)
Systems Architect, SIRCA Ltd

Secretary and Treasurer
Josephine Spongberg, Staff member
Administrative Officer, School of IT

Committee members

Judy Kay, BSc Hons (74), MSc (78), PhD (99)
Professor, School of IT

Phillip Wu, BSc (79)
NSW Department of Lands

Other business

Prize draw
Sanjay drew the prize for taking part in the alumni survey. The prize, $AU150 voucher was won by Lachlan Patrick, BSc (92), PhD (02). Congratulations, and happy spending!

The meeting closed at 6.30pm, and was followed by canapes and a talk on “Information Surveillance Management Systems: Architecture and Implementation” by Associate Professor Sanjay Chawla